Episode 2 – Female Vocalists

6 Mar

Another week, another podcast (oh, that’s lame).

Mar 6, 2010

This week I’m still experimenting with different things and also, despite all the assurance I was given to the contrary, trying to make it sound like I don’t have a lisp. Look, I know what I hear people.

New theme song/introductory music! The song is a 1-minute clip taken from Jim O’Rourke’s excellent track “Ghost Ship in the Storm” (isn’t that such a fitting title?). Loved using John Hartford last week, but still anxious to try different things. I’m going to keep the same music next week but still toy around a bit with it. I got some ideas.

Also new this week is the fact that it’s a THEMED EPISODE. That’s right–Nothing Delivered gets down and dirty with female vocalists. I thought it was fun to do, but I dunno if I’m imaginative enough to make a concept episode every week. Ideas?

First song up is Phantogram’s “When I’m Small,” a lovely trip-hop number featuring Sarah Barthel on vocals. Find out more about them and their new album Eyelid Movies here.

Next is a track from Beach House’s excellent new album Teen Dream. The song is “Used to Be.” Buy the album or stream it here.

Gillian Welch’s “I Want to Sing That Rock and Roll,” from her incredible 2001 album Time (The Revelator), represents Americana in the proceedings. PLEASE stream this album and then buy it immediately afterwards. For the sake of future generations in your family. When you die, your sons, daughters et al are going to be hoping against hope that you will your copy of the album to them. Little do they know that you’re going to be buried with it. That’s how good it is.

Then there’s the track I’ve been obsessing over all week–Sharon Van Etten’s “Love More,” recorded for Weathervane Music Organization, which you can read about here. Download the FREE track here, and then watch these awesome videos about Sharon Van Etten and the making of the song:

My girlfriend Lauren Irvin, music therapy major in her senior year at Queens University in Charlotte, drops by for the Random [Person] Track Review. Find out more about music therapy at the American Music Therapy Association’s website. Lauren and I listen to She & Him’s track “Thieves,” from their upcoming album Volume 2, out on March 23.

The closing track, chosen by Lauren, is Irish folk artist Pauline Scanlon’s “Rain and Snow,” from her album Hush. Download the mp3 album here.

Before I head out, I thought I’d provide you with some interesting reading about Apple and Amazon’s battle for your musical soul. http://www.billboard.biz/bbbiz/content_display/magazine/upfront/e3i5207f9d259b81f62d46a894f7a55e1bd

Have a great week!
-Adam Sandlin

One Response to “Episode 2 – Female Vocalists”

  1. libertyinexile March 8, 2010 at 9:38 pm #

    Oddly enough, my ears were massaged by this podcast on International Women’s Day.

    What songs could you possibly choose for International Day for the Elimination of Racial Discrimination on March 21st?

    I’m giving you a 4 out of 5 because you didn’t admit (in the presence of Lauren) that Zooey Deschanel is über hot.

    But work on that and you’ll be on your way to that golden 5-star list (Most of these indie ladies are 10s anyways).

Leave a Reply

