Third episode, problems, etc.

19 Mar

Loyal listeners revolted last week as the weekend came and went with no new podcast to show for it. I apologize.

Changes are afoot.

First of all, here:

March 13, 2010

I had this third episode episode done last Friday night but nowhere to put it. To make a not-very-long-but-still-uninteresting story short, the service I was using just wasn’t working, reinforcing the old adage that if something seems too good to be true (see: free podcast hosting site), it probably is. Anyway, following suit of my good friend Yael, I’ve now shelled out some money and am good to go with a reliable service called Jellycast.

“But Adam,” you interject. “What does this mean for me?”

Good question.

This means that you should have no problems when attempting to listen to my podcast from here on out. Clicking the links I give will lead you straight to the mp3 files and, barring any unforseen circumstances, those will actually work.

This also means that if you’ve subscribed to me on iTunes, you’re gonna have to do it again. I hate to say it, but there’s no other way around it at all. I’m just so grateful that I’m resolving this now and that it didn’t happen when I had more than two episodes. I’ll have to resubmit to iTunes, but bear with me and I’ll put a new link up to subscribe within the week.

The good news is I am back on schedule and will post the fourth episode tomorrow. Meanwhile, here is my blog entry for episode 3:

Lots of good music this week, in spite of the fact that I did not continue my “theme” idea. I’m toying with the idea of doing one themed episode a month. More on that to come. (Also, it was brought to my attention that March is Women’s History Month, so last week’s theme of Female Vocalists couldn’t have come at a better time.)

First song is “Music from Next Door” from Australian guitar pop band The Lucksmiths.  The song is from their fantastic 2005 album Warmer Corners. The band called it quits last year after a 15-year (!) run, but they left behind a consistently awesome back catalog for us to enjoy.

Next is “Fast Jabroni” from up-and-coming Florida-based band Surfer Blood. Hear their awesome debut album Astro Coast here (buy it here for the awesome price of $5.99).

Then we head over to the folk arena for the track “Scorpio” by Seattle’s The Dutchess and the Duke. The track is from their 2009 sophomore album Sunset/Sunrise. If you get a chance, also check out their incredible 2008 debut She’s the Dutchess, He’s the Duke. You won’t be disappointed.

Next up is “Extramundane,” a track from the excellent (and overlooked) 90s band Bedhead, fronted by Matt and Bubba Kidane. Buy their awesome 1998 album Transaction de Novo here, and check out the Kidanes’ current band The New Year while you’re at it.

My good friend and fellow hopeful high-school teacher Caleb Snell drops by for the Random Guy Track Review. We take a listen to Brooklyn-based band Tanlines’ song Real Life. We both liked it. I particularly enjoy Caleb’s description of the bassline.

Final song is a tribute to Sparklehorse’s Mark Linkous, with his beautiful song Sad & Beautiful World.

I’ll be back tomorrow with another update.

Leave a Reply

