Episode 5: Thangs heatin’ up

30 Mar

Mar 27 2010

Really excited about this week’s episode. I still cringe every time I hear myself talk, but I feel like the show is headed towards a lot of improvements.

Dunno if you noticed, but there sure was a lot of new music this week. New tracks from The Hold Steady, Broken Social Scene, New Pornographers, LCD Soundsystem, and others all debuted, so I decided to start the podcast off with a couple new tracks. First up is “Bloodbuzz Ohio,” the very first listen we’ve heard of the upcoming National album High Violet. Let’s take a look at that cool-as-hell cover art:

High Violet will be released on May 11 here in the US. In the meantime, take a listen (or if you’re like me, take about 20 listens) to this fantastic new track and (again if you’re like me) drive yourself crazy with anticipation for the new album. Download the track for free here.

Then there’s “The Sounds Are Always Begging,” a track from the new Bonnie ‘Prince’ Billy & The Cairo Gang album The Wonder Show of the World, which was just released on March 23. Can’t help but marvel at the amount of great new music Bonnie ‘Prince’ Billy continues to put out. Can’t help but feel he’s criminally overlooked. Buy the new album here.

Next I do the first installment of a new segment currently being called (for obvious lack of a better title) “Artist Spotlight.” Basically, the Artist Spotlight segment will spend a bit more time focusing on an artist and playing more than one song. The goal, as always, is to get more people listening to these artist’s excellent music.

Ola Podrida is the musical project of film composer David Wingo. In addition to composing beautiful scores for some of the most outstanding indie films of the past decade (George Washington, Great World of Sound), Wingo has released two top-notch albums on Western Vinyl under the moniker Ola Podrida. The self-titled debut was released in 2007, and sophomore album Belly of the Lion was released late last year. Hear “Roomful of Sparrows” and “Donkey” here on this episode, and then listen to the rest of the albums here. If you love what you hear (I think you might), buy!

Will Irvin, my girlfriend Lauren’s brother, drops by to listen to Here We Go Magic track “Collector” for the Random Guy Track Review segment. The track is taken from their upcoming sophomore album Pigeons, set to be released on Secretly Canadian on June 8. Download the track and pre-order the album here.

Will picks “Time We Had,” a track from California-based band The Mother Hips, to play us out. Stream their album Kiss the Crystal Flake here and then buy it.

Until next time…


One Response to “Episode 5: Thangs heatin’ up”

  1. libertyinexile May 16, 2010 at 10:30 am #


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: